Assurance + Promise: Part I

In less than a week, the youngest member of our family, Shalom, will undergo surgery to straighten her eyes. She has had very poor vision and strabismic amblyopia, a condition which causes her right eye to turn inward, every since her first set of immunizations at 3 months old.  I am amazed at her courage and peace as she faces the fact that she will be put to sleep and a surgeon will use a sharp object to impale her skin and adjust the muscles of her eyes.

When I think about this, I am amazed. Amazed at how far technology has come and amazed at the skill, precision and technique of human surgeons. Only God could produce such wonders.

What is interesting about all of this is, eight years ago, my husband and I started our military journey right here in this very city–Fort Lee,VA.  We visited the very same doctor who is performing the surgery, and he advised the very same surgery for our then 3-year-old. However, at that time, I was not ready.  I had talked with a lady whose daughter had undergone the surgery and had amazing results, but still, I was not ready.

Fast forward five years. I’m listening to my spiritual father speak of how he underwent surgery to correct a situation he was facing.  The light went on.  I heard the Holy Spirit confirm to me that Shalom’s healing will take place through surgery.  Of course we had been praying for healing for her eyes and putting on patches, but God chose to use this surgery and it still took four years to happen.

I think the Lord divinely orchestrated us to have this surgery performed at this time by this doctor.  He has been performing these surgeries for about 29 years, and he said that he performs about 300 of them per year.  I would think that after about 9,000 surgeries, he knows what he’s doing.

He assured Shalom, “You won’t feel any pain, just a little discomfort.”

He also said that her eyes may or not be completely straight,  but he assured us that her peripheral vision would improve greatly. His years of experience, in addition to his wonderful bedside manner, really helped put us at ease.

Shalom and I discussed what the doctor said about her eyes not being perfectly straight.  I told her (and the doctor) that whatever the surgery wouldn’t do, prayer would.  It’s a promise I have from the Father.

Proverbs 23:18 says, “For surely there is an end; and thine expectation shall not be cut off.”

I have an expectation for her “eye muscles to be strong, her eyes to be straight and for her to have perfect, 20/10 vision that is perfect and entire, not needing any assistance or aid by eyeglasses or contact lenses.”  I have spoken this expectation through this prayer for years, so it shall not be cut off.  Well, it may be a bit altered, since Shalom says she wants 20/50 vision and she wants to wear contact lenses, so I don’t think the Lord will override her will!

Dr. Wortham gave us assurance, but the Word of God gives me promises.  Another great scripture I love is found in Psalm 62:5.  It reads, “My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from him.”  Thankfully, my ultimate expectation regarding the success of this surgery is from the Lord.

What are you expecting God to do? You know that nothing is impossible with Him, (Luke 1:37) and if we ask Him anything according to His will, He hears us and we have what we are asking for (1 John 5:14-15), right?  Those are pretty awesome promises, if you ask me.

I’ll give you the report on Shalom’s surgery next week. Until then, I’d love to hear what you are expecting God to do in your life.

I hope this finds you well.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Roger says:

    Nice Selene

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

