Assurance + Promise: Part II

“Did I not tell you that if you believe, you will see the glory of God?”–Jesus in John 11:40

 

As you read last week, my youngest daughter, Shalom, was scheduled to have eye surgery this past week.  I am happy to report that all is well.  The surgery lasted 30 to 40 minutes, just as the doctor said.  There is still some redness in the corner of her eyes, just as the doctor said.  But, she is doing just fine, just as the doctor said.  His constant assurance leading up to the surgery brought me great peace.

Despite his words, every so often I wondered if I would hear a small voice in my spirit telling me not to go through with the surgery, or if an overwhelming feeling of worry or fear would engulf me.  Thankfully, neither ever occurred.

As I reflected on the form I signed freeing the hospital from any liability in the case of several undesirable, but possible outcomes such as blindness, paralysis, or even death, my mind quickly remembered God’s promise to me, “Your expectation shall not be cut off.” 

I am expecting Shalom to emerge from the surgery in peace and wholeness.  I am expecting her eyes to be ten times better than before, 20/50 eyesight, and straight eyes.  This is what I am expecting, and it will not be cut off,” I quoted to myself.

Colossians 3:2, instructs us to, “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”  I actually had to SET my mind on God’s promises and TAKE them off those negative possibilities.  Notice that this scripture involves action. Just as we set our alarms or our thermostats, we must set our minds, by recalling God’s words to us.

The day of the surgery was Tuesday, February 21 at 9:00 a.m. and we were instructed to arrive at 8:00.  I still remember when Dr. Wortham walked in completely donned in his surgery gear. He introduced himself to Roger, restated his plan for Shalom’s eyes and left the room saying, “We’ll take good care of her.”

After the surgery, they wheeled in my precious 11-year-old and the first thing I noticed was that she was not smiling.  I had never seen her frown the way I saw her frown that day.  Her eyes were still a bit closed and there was a little blood dripping from the corner of her eyes.  I asked her a question, but she did not answer.  Thankfully, my husband, who has had six surgeries of varying degrees in his lifetime, all of which required anesthesia, schooled me on its affects after surgery and gave me insight as to how she was feeling.

She was awake, but drowsy. She mentioned that her tongue hurt.  I called the nurse to inquire as to the cause. A familiar sense of nausea overwhelmed me and I knew I had to leave the room.

“All is well,” I quoted over and over as I left the surgery area and walked into the lobby.  I thought about how nice Shalom’s eyes would eventually look and heard the Lord say that often times we must go through pain or discomfort to receive a reward or even advance to the next level or season in life.

Are you currently going through a time of emotional, physical or relational pain or discomfort? What is your expectation from it all?  Jesus went through great pain, torture, and humiliation so that we could be healed, whole and have eternal life. Never doubt His endless love and the great plans He has for you.

An encouraging quote I read on Facebook said, “God is working on something and its better than you thought it would be.”

Thank you for reading. I’d love to hear from you.

-S.D.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

