Covid-19: 10 Immunity Enhancers

So remember last week I told you how my major coughing episode started by eating a piece of Good and Plenty candy from the bottom of my purse? I promised you I’d share what I did to overcome my ailments. I’m also including what I’ve been doing to help keep my immune system strong.   If you missed last week’s blog, here it is: Three Things God Promises in the Midst of the Coronavirus Pandemic

Now, as promised, here are the ten, no eleven, things you can do to fight off viruses:

  1. Take holy communion every day.  I have a goal to take communion every day. Use a grape, a piece of bread, or cracker, anything. I say, “Jesus was chastised so that I could have peace in my body.”  (Isaiah 53:5 But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.)   
  2. Flood your body with echinacea (an immunity booster) so as to super charge  your immune system.  I took three capsules three times a day. It worked like a charm since the next day the pain in my throat went away. ( I have since started having “echinacea tea” where I open the capsules and place them in hot water along with a tea bag and honey.)
  3. Double up on your vitamins everyday.  I usually only take one packet of my vitamins per day. One day, however, I took some with my dinner in addition to taking some at lunch. My energy level the next day was amazing! I’m committing to taking them twice a day now.
  4. Add antiviral foods/spices to your diet everyday. Garlic, ginger, turmeric and coconut oil are common and easy to find at the grocery store. A teacher at my daughter’s school gave me a great turmeric tea recipe that includes a tablespoon of turmeric, a dash of pepper and honey. It tastes great.
  5. Consume vitamin C everyday.  I started eating oranges and/or strawberries everyday. Many people take Vitamin C supplements. Happy people eat a piece of fruit every day, I read.
  6. Gargle with tea tree oil or salt water to relieve a sore throat.   Tea tree oil is antibacterial and antifungal, so it works wonders for soothing sore throats and killing bacteria lurking in your throat.
  7. Use antiviral essential oils. Here are a few suggestions: 
    • A. Rub Eucalyptus oil (mixed with a carrier oil such as olive oil or coconut oil) on your throat and chest.
    • B. Add a few drops of Eucalyptus oil to your bath water.
    • C. Inhale the steam of water with a few drops of a virus-fighting essential oil added.
    • D. Add an anti-viral essential oil to your diffuser. There’s so much beauty in multiplicity. Not only will you kill any virus lurking in  your respiratory organs, but the air will smell great as well!
  8. When you are fighting sickness, abstain from sugar. Satisfy your sweet taste through fresh or dried fruit. Use honey to sweeten your hot beverages.
  9. Expose your skin to some sunshine everyday. If it is not sunny, still get outside for 20 -30 minutes of fresh air exercise.
  10. Add probiotic (good bacteria) and/or supplements to your diet. Your health is in your gut. I take a daily probiotic with my vitamin pack. I’ve also started adding picked beets to my salad. If you don’t have a probiotic in supplement form, you can get good probiotics from sauerkraut, pickled beets, brined pickles and brined olives. All of these would be good additions to a green salad!
  11. Don’t eat candy at the bottom of your pocket or purse!

Additional Resources:

1. Nutrition and Natural Strategies Offer Hope Against COVID-19 

2. Coronavirus Resource Page

3. Science-Backed Practical Strategies for Immunity & Decreased Viral Threat With Dr. Ken Brown

Thank you for reading!

Leave a comment